Charged With Reckless Driving?

Reckless Driving In Virginia

Reckless driving is more serious Virginia than in most states. In many other states, you simply receive a speeding ticket if you go over a speed limit, but here in Virginia, you get charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor.

A Class 1 misdemeanor means a possible loss of your driving privileges for the next six months, 12 months in prison and a fine. Our attorneys at Boone Beale PLLC can help. We work to prevent the most damaging consequences of a reckless driving charge.

Types Of Reckless Driving Charges

The two most commonly occurring form of reckless driving punishable by law in Fairfax, Virginia, are the following:

  • Driving 20 mph over the speed limit or 80 mph in an area
  • When the driver drove in a way that is dangerous to another person’s property, limb or life that was intentional. The evidence is needed on the prosecutor’s part to make a case against you.

When charged with offenses that relate to reckless driving, it is best to hire a reckless driving lawyer to help fight your case. What you are trying to do is to avoid a misdemeanor charge where any mile above 90 mph lands you one day in jail. Influences on your sentence include your previous DMV convictions, other charges issued with your reckless driving charge, and if injuries occurred to anyone during your reckless driving. Our lawyers understand how to deal with these cases and will work to provide the best argument as strongly as possible to lessen license suspension and jail time.

How To Help Your Case

If you would like to provide assistance to our lawyer during your case, you should do the following:

  • Have your car’s speedometer calibrated before the trial. Calibrating your car’s speedometer can help your case, but do so under your lawyer’s instructions and supervision.
  • Have a copy of your Virginia driving record at hand before the trial. Your lawyer will give you a level-headed check as to what you should expect when the trial takes place, both the pros and the cons.

Contact Us

After a reckless driving charge, you may need to act quickly to protect your license and driving privileges. Call our Woodbridge office at 703-690-1222, our Richmond office at 804-780-1111, or use our online form to schedule an appointment with one of our lawyers.